A few days ago, my husband, stepson, grandson and I walked to the headwaters of Jack Creek. To my surprise, water sprang out of the ground in a clean, clear, flowing stream under pine trees. I was surprised when my husband took a drink out of it, and because of years of fear about untreated water, I said, “I hope it doesn’t have giardia in it.” I felt smug and scientific, but he laughed. “Look at it,” he said, “it’s coming out of the depths of the earth. How could it have giardia in it?” Sure enough, it flowed fast out of the darkness under a moss-covered tree root, choosing a path of least resistance, bringing life to plants downstream.

He took my water bottle, emptied the filtered tap water inside and refilled it from the spring. Lack of trust lingering in me, I took a tiny sip. None of the taste of civilized processes of humankind ruined it; the water was immaculate and sparkling. I drank deep and hiked the bottle out of the woods as though it’d poured from the fountain of youth. I still have some in my fridge. It feels sacred enough to keep for a time. In one of those Eureka! moments, I understood the need to slow down and notice the natural world in a way that enables God to open my eyes. I saw how my over-processing, information overloaded, fear-filled modern mind can prevent me from reaching for the pure abundant life straight from the Source.

In John 4:14, Jesus says, “. . whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Now that’s water I want!

